Rebels Collect SEC All-Freshman Honors
(L-R): Van Jefferson, Jaylon Jones and Greg Little
Dec. 8, 2016

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- A trio of Rebels were named to the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman team, the league office announced Thursday afternoon. Wide receiver Van Jefferson, defensive back Jaylon Jones and offensive tackle Greg Little earned SEC All-Freshman recognition as voted by the conference's 14 head coaches.

Three marks the most Rebels on the SEC All-Freshman team since Ole Miss had four following the 2013 season (Tony Conner, Robert Nkemdiche, Laquon Treadwell and Laremy Tunsil). Ole Miss was only one of three teams to land at least three on the conference's all-freshman list.

After redshirting the 2015 campaign, Jefferson burst onto the scene to become one of the top targets in a talented wide receiver corps. The Brentwood, Tennessee, native was one of two freshmen Rebels to start all 12 games, hauling in 49 catches for 543 yards and three touchdowns. Jefferson ranked second among SEC freshmen with 4.1 receptions per game and third with 45.2 receiving yards per game. He finished second on the team in catches, while placing third in receiving yards and TDs.

Jones played in all 12 games, earning a lone start at Vanderbilt late in the season. Against the Commodores, he tied a career high with six tackles. The cornerback posted 26 tackles throughout the year as well as one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. With five pass breakups, the Dallas, Texas, native tied for a team best and ranked second among SEC freshmen.

Ranked the No. 1 offensive lineman out of high school a season ago, Little played significant snaps throughout the 2016 campaign. He quickly helped the Ole Miss offensive line protect the quarterback, holding his own against the nation's best defensive ends. The Allen, Texas, native played in all 12 games at left tackle and started the final five contests of the season.

Athlon Sports also named eight Rebels to its two SEC All-Freshman teams. Jaylon Jones, defensive tackle Benito Jones and defensive back Myles Hartsfield earned first team accolades. Jefferson, Little, defensive back Deontay Anderson, offensive lineman Alex Givens and defensive back Jalen Julius made the second team.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit

2016 SEC All-Freshman Team
TE -   Isaac Nauta, Georgia
OL -  Jonah Williams, Alabama             
        Jawaan Taylor, Florida   
        Greg Little, Ole Miss      
        Logan Stenberg, Kentucky
C -   Erik McCoy, Texas A&M
WR - Dimetrios Mason, Missouri
        Van Jefferson, Ole Miss               
QB - Jalen Hurts, Alabama
RB - Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
       Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M
AP - Jonathan Johnson, Missouri
DL - Jabari Zuniga, Florida
       Marlon Davidson, Auburn
       Ed Alexander, LSU
       McTelvin Agim, Arkansas*
       Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State*       
LB -   Leo Lewis, Mississippi State
         Devin White, LSU
         De'Jon Harris, Arkansas
DB - Javaris Davis, Auburn
       Nigel Warrior, Tennessee
       Ronnell Perkins, Missouri
       Jaylon Jones, Ole Miss
Special Teams
PK - Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
P -   Josh Growden, LSU
RS - Jonathan Johnson, Missouri






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago