Five Rebels Earn All-SEC Honors From Phil Steele

CLEVELAND, OHIO - A total of five Ole Miss Rebels received postseason honors Tuesday, as Phil Steele announced his All-SEC football teams.

Sophomore wide receive A.J. Brown earned first team honors, while Greg Little, Breeland Speaks and Marquis Haynes were named to the second team. Senior Jordan Wilkins tallied his first postseason honor of the team, being tabbed third team running back.

Brown, the 2017 Conerly Trophy Winner, finished the 2017 season as the Ole Miss single-season record-holder in receiving yards (1,252) and tied for the top spot in receiving touchdowns (11). He leads the SEC and ranks sixth nationally in receiving yards per game (104.3).

Brown has earned All-American honors from the Associated Press, SB Nation and College Sports Madness.

Little, who started all 12 games during the 2017 season for the Rebels, helped pass protect for an Ole Miss offense that lead the SEC and ranked 10th nationally averaging 328.4 yards passing per game. He anchored an Ole Miss offensive line that blocked for two quarterbacks who threw for 350 yards or more in at least three games in a season. Ole Miss was just the fourth FBS team in the last 20 seasons to accomplish that feat.

Haynes, a senior from Jacksonville, Florida, led Ole Miss with 11 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks. He finished his stellar four-year career as Ole Miss' career leader in both sacks (32.0) and TFLs (47.5). Haynes wrapped up the season with 45 tackles and a team-leading three forced fumbles.

Speaks was second on the team in both tackles (67) and sacks (7.0). After spending time at the nose tackle position for the first five games of the season, Speaks started the last seven contests at defensive end. The junior from Jackson, Mississippi, finished the season with eight tackles for loss.

Wilkins rushed for 1,011 yards and nine touchdowns. He became just the fifth Rebel to go over the 1,000-yard mark and the first to do so since Dexter McCluster did it in 2010. His 1,011 yards rushing are the fourth-most all-time on the Ole Miss single-season rushing charts. His 6.52 rushing yards per carry ranked second in the SEC and 14th nationally.

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram in addition to






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago