Thornberry Named to 2018 Ben Hogan Award Watch List
Feb. 14, 2018

FORT WORTH, Texas—For the second year in a row, Ole Miss men’s golfer Braden Thornberry is one of 27 contenders named to the 2018 Ben Hogan Award Watch List and only one of seven named a repeated member. The announcement was made by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) Wednesday morning.

The Ben Hogan Award, presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., is granted each year to the top men’s golfers in NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA after evaluation of all collegiate and amateur competitions from June to May. This year it is made up of nine seniors, fourteen juniors and four sophomores to total 27 individuals across 24 different universities from five conferences. The SEC owns the most nominees with seven.

Thornberry captured the NCAA title at the end of last May and from there was named a PING First-Team All-American and the Haskins Award winner. Thornberry spent his summer participating in two PGA Tour events, one being the FedEx St. Jude Classic where he finished in the top five. The Olive Branch, Mississippi, native went on to become a member of both the All-Nicklaus Team and the USA Walker Cup team before winning two individual tournament titles in the fall. Thornberry holds the school record for the lowest three-round score at 18-under par (198) and is first all-time in tournament victories with nine.

The Ben Hogan Award was founded in 1990 where it also included academic achievements in its original list of standards, but since 2002 has been revised to honor the most outstanding amateur collegiate golfer based on performance.

Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012), Chris Williams (Washington, 2013), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, 2014), Jon Rahm (Arizona State, 2015, 2016), and Maverick McNealy (Stanford, 2017).

The list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 11. The following month, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, at the end of May prior to the start of the annual PGA TOUR stop at Colonial, where the winner will be crowned.

Thornberry and the Rebels begin the spring season this weekend (Feb. 16-18) with the All-American Intercollegiate in Houston. The 54-hole event begins Friday at 8:30 a.m. with one round each day.

Watch List Candidates:

Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb, Sr., Brentwood, Tenn.

Braden Bailey, Baylor, Jr., Groves, Texas

Shintaro Ban, UNLV, Sr., San Jose, Calif.

Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State, Jr., Forest, Va.

Chandler Blanchet, West Florida, Sr., Gainesville, Fla.

Brad Dalke, Oklahoma, Jr., Norman, Okla.

Harry Ellis, Florida State, Sr., Southampton, England

Patrick Fishburn, BYU, Sr., Ogden, Utah

Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern, Jr., Stockbridge, Ga.

Doug Ghim, Texas, Sr., Arlington Heights, Ill.

Will Gordon, Vanderbilt, Jr., Davidson, N.C.

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt, Sr., Greenwich, Conn.

S.M. Lee, Dalton State, So., Buford, Ga.

Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt, Jr., Birmingham, Ala.

Dylan Meyer, Illinois, Sr., Evansville, Ind.

Collin Morikawa, California, Jr., La Canada Flintridge, Calif.

Fredrik Nilehn, Texas Tech, Sr., Goteborg, Sweden

Bryson Nimmer, Clemson, Jr., Bluffton, S.C.

Mason Overstreet, Arkansas, So., Kingfisher, Okla.

Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M, Jr., Huntsville, Texas

Doc Redman, Clemson, So., Raleigh, N.C.

Davis Riley, Alabama, Jr., Hattiesburg, Miss.

Justin Suh, Southern California, Jr., San Jose, Calif.

Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine, Jr., Chino Hills, Calif.

Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss, Jr., Olive Branch, Miss.

Brandon Wu, Stanford, Jr., Danville, Calif.

Norman Xiong, Oregon, So., Canyon Lake, Calif.









  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago