Thornberry Named to Fred Haskins Award Watch List
Feb. 22, 2018

OXFORD, Miss.—Ole Miss men’s golfer Braden Thornberry was the recipient of the Fred Haskins Award last year, given to the most outstanding men’s collegiate golfer of the year, and this season is one of 20 named to the watch list, the Haskins Commission announced Thursday.

The Fred Haskins Award, presented annually by Stifel, is known as the “Heisman of Golf” and honors late Fred Haskins, who dedicated his career as Head Professional at the Country Club of Columbus in teaching junior golfers.

Thornberry became the Haskins Award recipient after winning the individual title at the NCAA Championships and owning a stroke average of 69.57 to lead the nation. He posted four additional victories throughout the season and, at the time, was tied with Dave Peege for the Ole Miss record with most career wins (7) in just two seasons.

Since receiving the award, Thornberry has surpassed Peege for most individual victories with nine and counting. The junior finished top five at the FedEx St. Jude Classic, was a member of the All-Nicklaus Team, and led Team USA to a victory in the Walker Cup. While Thornberry is one of seven representing the Southeastern Conference as a contender for the Haskins Award, he currently stands second in the conference in stroke average with a 69.80 behind Davis Riley of Alabama.

Past Haskins winners include Ben Crenshaw, Luke Donald, David Duval, Justin Leonard, Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods. Winners have gone on to compete in 42 Ryder Cups, win 28 majors and over 250 PGA Tour events.

Additionally, Thornberry was ranked No.15 in the United States in the second spring Arnold Palmer Cup Rankings. The top six golfers from the final ranking in the spring will compete in the Arnold Palmer Cup July 6-8.

For all Ole Miss Men's golf news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissMGolf, on Instagram at OleMissMGolf and on Facebook at Fans can also follow head coach Chris Malloy on Twitter @CoachMalloy12.

Haskins Award Contenders
Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State
Shintaro Ban, UNLV
Hayden Buckley, Missouri
Brad Dalke, Oklahoma
Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern
Stephen Franken, North Carolina State
Doug Ghim, Texas
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
Collin Morikawa, California
Fredrick Nilehn, Texas Tech
Mason Overstreet, Arkansas
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Davis Riley, Alabama
Justin Suh, USC
Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine
Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State
Brandon Wu, Stanford
Norman Xiong, Oregon 






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago