Trio of Rebels Earn SEC Recognition
May 10, 2018

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – A trio of Ole Miss golfers earned recognition from the Southeastern Conference as the league office announced its postseason awards Thursday afternoon. Braden Thornberry was tabbed first team All-SEC, while Cecil Wegener collected SEC All-Freshman accolades. Junior Beau Briggs was named to the SEC Community Service Team. The awards were voted on by the conference's 14 head coaches.

Thornberry earned first team All-SEC accolades for the second consecutive season, becoming the sixth Rebel in program history to accomplish that feat. The No. 1 ranked amateur in the world (Golfweek/ joins the likes of Darren Cole (1984-85), Lan Gooch (1987-88), Dave Peege (1983-85) and Randy Watkins (1982-83) and is the first Rebels to become a two-time All-SEC honoree since Brian Rowell (1995-1996). Thornberry held the third-lowest scoring average in the SEC at 69.88 and was the only one in the conference to collect multiple SEC Golfer of the Week awards.

The Ben Hogan Award finalist also won four times throughout the season, twice in the fall and twice in the spring, to go along with seven top-5 finishes and nine top-20s over 11 tournaments. He won the season-opening Shoal Creek Invitational (Sept. 25-26) before claiming the Franklin Mortgage Intercollegiate at The Grove (Oct. 9-10). Thornberry led the Rebels to a team victory at the Hootie at Bulls Bay (March 25-27) while finishing at the top of the individual leaderboard. Last month at the Old Waverly Collegiate Championship (April 16-17), he cruised to a five-shot victory by finishing the tournament at 12-under. With 11 medalist honors throughout his career, Thornberry is the only golfer to reach double figures in individual wins in Ole Miss history. 

Wegener found himself on the SEC All-Freshman team after a strong debut season for the Red and Blue. The Ridgeland, Mississippi, native is the first Rebel to be named all-freshman since 2010 when Tom Brown and Pete Kellermann earned the honor. Wegener became the sixth all-freshman golfer in Ole Miss history in large part to an impressive spring that featured three top-10 finishes. Out of his last 12 rounds, Wegener has shot in the 60s five times, including a pair of 67s (-5) at the Gary Koch Invitational (April 9-10). He put together his best tournament as a Rebel at the SEC Championship (April 25-29), tying for medalist honors. Wegener fired a career-low 205 (70-65-70) to sit tied atop the leaderboard at 5-under before falling in a three-hole playoff to Florida’s Andy Zhang. The second round 65 was Wegener’s best of the season, and he dropped his season stroke average to 73.27 for the second best on the team behind Thornberry.

Briggs represents Ole Miss on the SEC Community Service team for his work around the city of Oxford. He volunteers with the Oxford Boys and Girls Club to help children focus on academic success, good character and healthy lifestyles. The Covington, Louisiana, native also participates in Reading with the Rebels, stopping by local elementary schools to read books to the kids. He helped coordinate Rebelthon, the annual dance marathon that raises money for Batson Children’s Hospital, as well as Hope to Dream. Briggs served his fellow Rebels as a member of the Ole Miss Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and was instrumental in the annual Rebels’ Choice Awards. On the course, he has played in nine tournaments and holds a 73.30 stroke average heading into NCAA postseason play at the Bryan Regional (May 14-16) in Texas.

For all Ole Miss Men's Golf news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissMGolf, on Instagram at OleMissMGolf and on Facebook at Ole Miss Men's Golf.

Andy Zhang, Florida (SEC Championship Medalist)
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss
Lorenzo Scalise, Tennessee
Lee Hodges, Alabama
Davis Riley, Alabama
Luis Gagne, LSU
Hayden Buckley, Missouri

Brandon Mancheno, Auburn
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Alvaro Ortiz, Arkansas
Gordon Neale, Florida
Spencer Ralston, Georgia
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
Jovan Rebula, Auburn
Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt

Nick Clinard, Auburn

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt

Brandon Mancheno, Auburn

Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt

Brandon Mancheno, Auburn
Trey Winstead, LSU
Wells Padgett, Auburn
John Axelsen, Florida
Jacob Bergeron, LSU
Cecil Wegener, Ole Miss

Alex Green, Alabama
Alvaro Ortiz, Arkansas
Ben Schlottman, Auburn
Blake Dyer, Florida
Matthew Beringer, Georgia
Cooper Musselman, Kentucky
Luis Gagne, LSU
Beau Briggs, Ole Miss
Taylor Grant, Mississippi State
Hayden Buckley, Missouri
Ben Dietrich, South Carolina
Nolan Ray, Tennessee
Brandon Smith, Texas A&M
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago