Braden Thornberry Named Finalist for 2018 Haskins Award
June 4, 2018

ORLANDO, Fla. - Ole Miss golfer Braden Thornberry has been named a finalist for the Fred Haskins Award, given to the nation's most outstanding collegiate golfer. The winner of the 2017 Haskins Award, Thornberry is a finalist for the second year in a row.

Thornberry is one of three finalists up for the award, joining Doug Ghim of Texas and Norman Xiong of Oregon. The trio makes up the top three spots in the World Amateur Golf Rankings led by Ghim and followed by Thornberry and Xiong. Ghim and Thornberry were also finalists for the Ben Hogan Award, another one of the most prestigious awards in college golf.

Thornberry earned the honor for the second time in his career following another strong season that ended at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The Olive Branch, Mississippi, native ended the 2017-18 collegiate season ranked top 20 nationally in the following categories: versus par (9th at -1.49), par 3 scoring (11th-3.02), par 5 scoring (12th-4.53), par 4 scoring (13th-3.98), birdies (13th-149) and scoring average (15th-70.28). Thornberry collected four victories this season, increasing his career total to a school-record 11. He earned medalist honors at the Shoal Creek Invitational, FAMC Intercollegiate at The Grove, Hootie at Bulls Bay and Old Waverly Collegiate Championship.

The list of honors continues to grow for Thornberry. Along with becoming the first Hogan Award finalist in school history, Thornberry was also a semifinalist for the Jack Nicklaus Award. Last month, Thornberry became a first team All-SEC honoree for the second straight season, the sixth Rebel to ever accomplish that feat. He earned PING Southeast All-Region accolades as well for the second consecutive time.

The Fred Haskins Award is presented annually by the Haskins Commission to honor the most outstanding collegiate golfer in the United States. The award is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus. Votes are tabulated by the Haskins Commission from select writers, golf coaches and collegiate golfers. The winner of the award will be announced at 6 p.m. Wednesday (June 6) on Golf Channel.

Thornberry is seeking to become the fourth golfer to win the Haskins Award multiple times, joining the likes of Ben Crenshaw (1971, 1972, 1973), Bobby Clampett (1979, 1980) and Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991, 1992). Thornberry captured the award last year after winning the 2017 NCAA Arnold Palmer Individual National Championship, leading the nation in stroke average at 69.57 and posting five wins.

For all Ole Miss Men's Golf news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissMGolf, on Instagram at OleMissMGolf and on Facebook at Ole Miss Men's Golf.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago