Thornberry Named Haskins Award Winner As Top Collegiate Golfer
June 7, 2017

OXFORD, Miss. – Ole Miss sophomore Braden Thornberry continued to add to his long list of accomplishments Wednesday after he was named the Fred Haskins Award winner, as the most outstanding men’s collegiate golfer.

The Fred Haskins Award is presented annually by the Haskins Commission to honor the most outstanding collegiate golfer in the United States. The award is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus. Votes are tabulated by the Haskins Commission from select writers, golf coaches and collegiate golfers.

Thornberry, who captured the 2017 NCAA Arnold Palmer Individual National Championship, led the nation in stroke average at 69.57 this season and posted five wins including the national title. The Southaven, Mississippi native is tied with Dave Peege for the Ole Miss record with seven career wins in just two seasons in Oxford.

“It is an honor to win the Haskins Award,” Thornberry said. “It validates all of the hard work that I have put in with my teammates. We are changing the culture of the Ole Miss Golf program and are headed in the right direction. I can't thank Coach (Chris) Malloy and Coach (Kyle) Ellis enough for what they have done for me this year. It is an unbelievable feeling knowing my name will be alongside greats like Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson. This makes me even more excited for next season!”

“To be named the most outstanding player in college golf is an incredible honor,” said Ole Miss head coach Chris Malloy. “Braden has been so consistent and to cap the year off with an NCAA Championship makes this season one that we will never forget. I am so proud of Braden, not only for his development on the course, but the man that he has matured into off of it. He is a great representative of our program as well as this wonderful award.”



Past Haskins winners include Ben Crenshaw, Luke Donald, David Duval, Justin Leonard, Phil Mickelson and Tigers Woods. Winners have gone on to compete in 42 Ryder Cups, win 28 majors and over 250 PGA Tour events.

For all Ole Miss Men's golf news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissMGolf, on Instagram at OleMissMGolf and on Facebook at Fans can also follow head coach Chris Malloy on Twitter @CoachMalloy12.

Past Haskins Award Winners

2017    Ole Miss          Braden Thornberry

2016    Texas              Beau Hossler

2015    Stanford          Maverick McNealy

2014    Stanford          Patrick Rodgers

2013    California         Michael Kim

2012    Alabama          Justin Thomas

2011    UCLA               Patrick Cantlay

2010    Georgia           Russell Henley

2009    N.C. State        Matt Hill

2008    UCLA               Kevin Chappell

2007    So. California    Jamie Lovemark

2006    Oklahoma St.   Pablo Martín

2005    UNLV               Ryan Moore

2004    Wake Forest     Bill Haas

2003    Oklahoma St.   Hunter Mahan

2002    UAB                 Graeme McDowell

2001    Georgia Tech    Bryce Molder

2000    Oklahoma St.   Charles Howell III

1999    Northwestern   Luke Donald

1998    Georgia Tech   Matt Kuchar

1997    Texas               Brad Elder

1996    Stanford          Tiger Woods

1995    Georgia Tech    Stewart Cink

1994    Texas               Justin Leonard

1993    Georgia Tech    David Duval

1992    Arizona State   Phil Mickelson

1991    Arizona State    Phil Mickelson

1990    Arizona State    Phil Mickelson

1989    Arizona            Robert Gamez

1988    Texas               Bob Estes

1987    Arizona State    Billy Mayfair

1986    Oklahoma St.    Scott Verplank

1985    So. California    Sam Randolph

1984    UNC                 John Inman

1983    Furman            Brad Faxon

1982    Oklahoma St.   Willie Wood

1981    Oklahoma St.   Bob Tway

1980    BYU                 Bobby Clampett

1979    BYU                 Bobby Clampett

1978    Oklahoma St.   Lindy Miller

1977    So. California   Scott Simpson

1976    Florida             Phil Hancock

1975    Wake Forest    Jay Haas

1974    Wake Forest    Curtis Strange

1973    Texas               Ben Crenshaw

1972    Texas               Ben Crenshaw

1971    Texas               Ben Crenshaw




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago