Braden Thornberry Lands on All-Nicklaus Team
June 29, 2017

NORMAN, Okla. – The honors keep piling up for Ole Miss golfer Braden Thornberry. The NCAA Division I individual national champion was named to the 2017 All-Nicklaus Team by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) Thursday afternoon.

Thornberry was one of 24 golfers throughout Divisions I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA that were recognized for their outstanding play during the 2016-17 collegiate season. The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history’s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf, Jack Nicklaus.

As a sophomore, Thornberry posted five wins throughout the season and became the first Rebel in program history to win the NCAA national title. The Olive Branch, Mississippi, native also led the nation in stroke average at 69.57 and was named the winner of the Haskins Award, given to the country’s most outstanding collegiate golfer. With seven career wins in only two seasons, Thornberry is already tied with Dave Peege for the most individual victories in school history.

Joining Thornberry on the All-Nicklaus Team are Chandler Blanchet of West Florida, Odessa’s Adam Blomme, Sam Burns of LSU, Oregon’s Wyndham Clark, John Coultas and John VanDerLaan of Florida Southern, Berry’s Ryan Elmore, Rupert Kaminski of Oklahoma City, Huntingdon’s Addison Lambeth, Logan Lanier of LaGrange, Dalton State’s SM Lee, Rowan Lester of Texas Wesleyan, Marco Maldonado of Tyler JC, Nova Southeastern’s Richard Mansell, Patrick Martin of Vanderbilt, Stanford’s Maverick McNealy, Collin Morikawa of California, UNLV’s John Oda, Indian Hills Rickey Sanders, Jimmy Stanger of Virginia, Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Colin Troxler, and Wake Forest’s Will Zalatoris.

For all Ole Miss Men's Golf news and information, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissMGolf, on Instagram at OleMissMGolf and on Facebook at Ole Miss Men’s Golf.

Braden Thornberry Award Tracker

  • NCAA Arnold Palmer Individual National Championship
  • Fred Haskins Award (most outstanding collegiate golfer)
  • PING First Team All-American
  • All-Nicklaus Team
  • PING Southeast All-Region Team
  • First Team All-SEC






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago