Randall Going Into Mississippi Tennis Hall Of Fame
Dave Randall

Aug 22, 2013

TWITTER: @OleMissMTennis
FACEBOOK: @OleMissMTennis

OXFORD, Miss. - Twenty-five years after he helped put Ole Miss Tennis in the national spotlight, Tupelo native Dave Randall will be inducted into the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame in January of 2014.      

A tremendous representative of Ole Miss on and off the court, Randall earned the Rafael Osuna Sportsmanship Award in 1989, the NCAA's yearly award presented to the most outstanding collegiate tennis player that demonstrates both great skill and exemplifies sportsmanship.  

Randall was a two-time All-Southeastern Conference selection and an All-America honoree in doubles.  He earned a top 10 ranking two years and reached the quarterfinals of the NCAA Doubles Championships in 1988. Randall and his teammate, Jamie Booras, were the first tennis All-Americans at the University.

He won three SEC titles in his career at Ole Miss, including the 1988 No. 1 singles crown.  Randall helped lead the Rebels to their first ever NCAA Team Championship appearance in 1989. In addition, Randall earned Academic All-SEC honors in 1987 and 1988.    

After his All-American career at Ole Miss, Randall spent nine years on the ATP Tour, where he was a mainstay in the top 50 of the world rankings in doubles.    He holds three ATP doubles titles, was a finalist 11 times and reached the quarterfinals of doubles at the 1993 U.S. Open.  

Randall's top singles performance came at the Kroger St. Jude tournament in Memphis where he was a quarterfinalist, beating two players ranked in the top 20 in the world.  His singles wins feature ATP No. 1 Tomas Muster and his doubles victories include some of the top players in men's tennis: Stefan Edberg, Ivan Lendl, Patrick Rafter, Goran Ivanisevic and Andre Agassi.  

A member of the Ole Miss M-Club Athletic Hall of Fame, Randall is currently the director of tennis at River Hills Tennis Club in Jackson.

He joins his former college coach, Billy Chadwick, who was inducted into the Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame as part of the 2010 class.

The Mississippi Tennis Hall of Fame ceremony will be held at the Country Club of Jackson Saturday, January 11, 2014.  The evening will begin with a cocktail reception at 6:30, followed by dinner and the induction ceremony at 7:30. Tickets are $75 and can be purchased by contacting the Mississippi Tennis Association (MTA) office at 601-981-4421, 800-349-1683 or emailing revelandw@mstennis.com.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago