Shandricka Sessom Named to SEC Community Service Team
Feb. 22, 2017

SEC Release

Ole Miss junior guard Shandricka Sessom (Byhalia, Miss.) was named it the SEC Community Service Team it was announced by the Southeastern Conference on Wednesday. It is the first time Sessom has represented Ole Miss on the team. 

The Ole Miss women's basketball team is always active in the greater Oxford and Lafayette communities and Sessom has been a big part of that initiative. Sessom has been an active participant in the Ole Miss-Oxford community since arriving on campus. She's participated in Move Mississippi -- an initiative to get youth in Mississippi moving and doing physical activity. She and the Ole Miss women's basketball team have adopted a local family for the holiday season and have also spent time at Batson Children's Hospital interacting with patients. She's been chosen as a guest speaker for her middle school athletic banquet and also with the Sunflower Project empowering young girls.

In addition to her service, Sessom is active in leadership roles on campus and in the SEC. She's a member of the SEC Leadership Council and has served as the Ole Miss women's basketball SAAC representative for the last two years and this fall was selected as a member of the Ole Miss SAAC Executive Board. She was also a WBCA/AllState Good Works Team nominee.

This marks the 19th year for the SEC Community Service Team for women's basketball as well as for men's basketball. All league-sponsored sports have had a Community Service Team since 2004, with at-large teams for men's and women's sports being chosen from 1999-2003. The SEC began this concept with a football Community Service Team in 1994.

Honorees from other institutions include: Ashley Williams, Alabama, Devin Cosper, Arkansas, Katie Frerking, Auburn, Brooke Copeland, Florida, Mackenzie Engram, Georgia, Alyssa Rice, Kentucky, Rina Hill, LSU, Blair Schaefer, Mississippi State, Lianna Doty, Missouri, Alaina Coates, South Carolina, Jordan Reynolds, Tennessee, Alyssa Michalke, Texas A&MMinta Spears, Vanderbilt

Ole Miss travels to Missouri on Thursday for a 7 PM battle with the Tigers and will close the regular season on Sunday at home against Texas A&M. The Rebels will recognize seniors Bretta Hart, Shequila Joseph, Taylor Manuel and Erika Sisk as well as graduate manager Brett Ball and head manager Jalen Powell.

For women's basketball ticket information, go to or call the Ole Miss Ticket Office at 1-888-REB-TKTS (732-8587).

For all Ole Miss women's basketball news and information, go to, and follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissWBB, Facebook at Ole Miss WBB and on Instagram at Ole Miss_WBB. Fans can also follow Ole Miss women's basketball head coach Matt Insell on Twitter at @minsell






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago