Trio of Former Rebels Honored as Trailblazers by Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame
June 8, 2018

Daily Journal Story | Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2018

– Ole Miss women’s basketball figures Peggie (Gillom) Granderson, Jeanie (Loyd) Dale and Renee (Rutland) Ladner will be honored as part of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame paying homage to the first professional women’s basketball league in the United States, the Women’s Professional Basketball League.

The WBL lasted three seasons from 1978-81, with Granderson, Dale and Ladner playing alongside other women’s basketball pioneers such as Nancy Lieberman, Muffet McGraw and Holly Warlick.

Both Granderson and Dale will be in attendance. Granderson, already a 2013 inductee into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, is the all-time leading scorer in Rebel history with 2,486 career points and the all-time leading rebounder with 1,271 boards – making her the first and one of just two in the 2,000-point, 1,000-rebound club. Dale was a two-year letterwinner and she was a Team Captain on Van Chancellor’s first Ole Miss team in 1978-79 alongside Granderson. Ladner was also on that team, leading the team in free throw percentage and serving as Team Captain alongside Granderson the following season in 1979-80.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissWBB, Facebook at Ole Miss WBB on Instagram at Ole MissWBB and on Snapchat with the handle @OleMissWBB.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago