Ole Miss Volleyball Places 10 On Academic Honor Roll

April 17, 2003

OXFORD, Miss. - The Southeastern Conference honored 10 members of the Ole Miss volleyball team for their hard work in the classroom on Thursday, with the announcement of the 2003 Academic Honor Roll for the 2002 season.

The Lady Rebels placed the second most members of any of the SEC's 12 schools on the list, behind Louisiana State University, who earned 12 spots.

"We're excited that so many of our athletes were honored for their hard work in the realm of academics," said head coach Joe Getzin. "We want our athletes to excel in the classroom as well as on the court. I think having 10 of our athletes named to this list shows the strength of our commitment to academics here at Ole Miss."

Members of the 2002 squad earning the honor were Mary Nell Bennett (Liberal Arts), Amie Ewing (Pharmacy), Sarah Lansden (Psychology), Erin Newsom (Journalism), Megan McCune (Psychology), Erica Tricco (Journalism), and Cheryl Wilson (Art).

Jaime Burns (Elementary Education), Abby Hollander (French Education), and Leigh Rittner (Accountancy), all four-year letter-winners for the Lady Rebels, were also named to the 2002 Academic Honor Roll for their success in the classroom in 2001.

The 2002 Ole Miss volleyball team improved on the court in the first year under Getzin's leadership. The Lady Rebels posted an 11-17 record, 4-12 in the Southeastern Conference, including season sweeps over Auburn and in-state rival Mississippi State.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago